Quick Help

Knowledgebase is a categorized collection of answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) and articles. You can read articles in this category or select a subcategory that you are interested in.



 How to update Euphony & Revert feature

Solution

If you fully registered Euphony and used Install option to install Euphony on another drive for permanent usage then you are automatically able to receive updates. 

If you are still running euphony from USB stick that you created from Euphony image then you must first do 'Complete installation' action (you can do that even in TRIAL mode). 

Euphony checks for updates after every restart and will automatically open Settings -> Update page if there is a new update. You can also manually activate Check for updates from main menu.

 

To see changes since the last release you installed click on release number in Update dialog to open 'Changes' panel.

To see complete list of changes for all releases click on current release number in Settings -> System.

 

Internally, when fully installed (by 'Complete' or 'Install'), Euphony has 2 system partitions. When you perform an Update that update lands on other (inactive) partition and then that updated partition becomes the one to boot from.

So, after first update, you will always have one partition with current release and one with previously installed release.

'Revert' function in Settings -> System switches between these two partitions.

It's also worth noting that Euphony uses two types of updates:

  • System update - explained above
  • Feature update - this only updates some files on current system partition

Since Feature update does not use second partition but current one Revert feature cannot be used to go back to earlier Feature update point - only to most recent System update.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Do not use Revert lightly, before consulting with support. Revert switches between system images but configuration, which is on separate 'data' partition remains in place and it's always possible that previous release may became confused with newly introduced configuration from latest release. We will of course try to prevent that but this may not always be possible.

 
Was this article helpful? yes / no

Article details

Article ID: 9

Category: Installation

Date added: 08.04.2019 09:29

Views : 271

Rating (Votes): Article rated 5.0/5.0 (1)

 
Powered by Help Desk Software HESK, in partnership with SysAid Technologies