Quick Help

Knowledgebase is a categorized collection of answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) and articles. You can read articles in this category or select a subcategory that you are interested in.



 "Complete installation" function - not the ideal way to run Euphony permanently

Solution

They way Euphony does updates to it's system is based on having two system partitions:

  • active one - which you boot from
  • inactive one - which you use during update 

Update essentially downloads the whole system partition filesystem image and applies it to inactive partition. Once that is done system is simply told to boot from updated partition.  Previously active partition becomes inactive one (and retains previous release to which you can always return to).

Important: when you burn euphony image to USB and boot from it you only have one system partition, the one you booted from. Inactive partition still does not exists.

To be able to receive updates you first have to register (Trial or full payed registration).

If you register for Trial and you want to receive updates during trial period you have to crete this second, inactive partition. This is done by 'Complete installation' function. Complete installation will create this inactive partition from filesystem image that is already present in the filesystem of the image you burned to your USB.

If you register fully, you will have 2 options: 

  • Install - installs Euphony on another drive creating all needed partitions and restoring the filesystem from the filesystem image to both system partitions. 
  • Complete installation - creates only second partition like before thus enabling updates 

Both of these options will work and behave in the same way if everything is alright. In case of problems, Install option is preferable.

Potential issues have to do with partition UUIDs. In Euphony we use UUID as main identifier for mounting partitions. Default system partition in euphony image that you burn to USB has always the same UUID: d85fe591-2026-4e75-a314-44d5c435c372

If you run your Euphony from USB or other drive that you created by burning Euphony image to it you will always have that same UUID for your first system partition.

If something happens to your installation (corrupt filesystem or some other unforeseen error) and your system becomes inaccessible you have an option to boot from another USB with fresh Euphony system image and run Install/Repair with your primary drive as destination. Install/Repair will preserve your music data and you can again have working Euphony installation with relative minimum fuss.

However, if you used Complete installation, your corrupt drive would have the same default UUID for it's system partition as the new USB drive you created for repair purpose. This will cause conflict, your system will behave unpredictably and you will not be able to do Repair procedure. You will have to install everything from scratch, lose your music that you copied to Euphony Drive and all metadata.

If you used Install, newly created partitions would get new UUIDs with no chance of UUID conflict.

That is why Install is preferable option.

 

 

 

 
Was this article helpful? yes / no

Article details

Article ID: 10

Category: Installation

Date added: 27.05.2019 14:47

Views : 358

Rating (Votes): Article rated 3.7/5.0 (3)

 
Powered by Help Desk Software HESK, in partnership with SysAid Technologies